INEC lists 66 men, 8 women, and 0 People with Disabilities for the February 3 bye election , Leading up to the Bye Elections scheduled for February 3 in certain states of the Federation, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list and personal details of candidates for the upcoming polls. The announcement was made in a statement on Wednesday in Abuja by Sam Olumekun, the National Commissioner and Chairman of INEC’s Information and Voter Education Committee.

    INEC lists

    The list comprises 66 male and eight female candidates, with no representation from the Persons With Disabilities (PWDs) community. The World Bank notes that while there isn’t a precise estimate of the number of people with disabilities in Nigeria, data from the 2018 Nigeria Demographic and Health Survey indicates that around 7% of household members above the age of five, as well as 9% of those aged 60 or older, face some level of difficulty in at least one functional domain—such as seeing, hearing, communication, cognition, walking, or self-care.

    As of today, the number of Nigerians living with disabilities exceeds 27 million. The statement from Olumekun clarifies that the publication specifically pertains to the upcoming bye-elections, which involve fresh elections where political parties conducted primaries and nominated their candidates. He emphasized that for the re-run elections occurring on the same day, the list and personal details of candidates were previously published before the 2023 General Election. These re-run elections result from orders issued by the Election Petition Appeal Tribunals and do not involve new or disqualified candidates, eliminating the need for re-publishing their personal particulars.


    Olumekun highlighted that the vacancies leading to the bye-elections resulted from the death or resignation of members of the National and State Houses of Assembly. The bye-elections are scheduled for Saturday, February 3, 2024, across nine states of the Federation, encompassing two Senatorial Districts, four Federal Constituencies, and three State Constituencies. The affected areas include Ebonyi South and Yobe East Senatorial Districts, among others.

    In accordance with the Timetable and Schedule of Activities, the personal details and final list of candidates were published on Wednesday in state offices and the affected constituencies. This publication aligns with the provisions of Section 29(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022. The list of candidates is also accessible on the INEC website and social media platforms.


    “We urge Nigerians to carefully examine the personal details, including Form EC9 and academic credentials, of the candidates. If any candidate took part in party primaries and there are valid reasons to suspect that the information provided is untrue, individuals can contest the nomination in a Federal High Court, as outlined in Section 29(5) of the Electoral Act 2022,” he declared.

    Explore For More News Updates