Senate declares changes in leadership roles

    On Wednesday, the Senate revealed a few minor leadership changes.

    The statement was made at the start of the plenary by Senate President Godswill Akpabio.

    Oyelola Ashiru (APC-Kwara South), who was previously the deputy whip, has been promoted to the role of deputy senate leader, according to Mr. Akpabio.

    godswill akpabio

    Read also>>> Maida assumes leadership of NCC and pledges affordable Internet

    Onyekachi Nwaebonyi (APC, Ebonyi North) was also appointed as the new deputy whip by him.

    Mr. Akpabio clarified that the resignation of David Umahi, the deputy senate leader, prior to his appointment as minister of works by President Bola Tinubu, was the reason behind the appointments.

    The nominations come one day after Chief Whip Ali Ndume expressed dissatisfaction over the upper chamber’s legislative operations, claiming they had not followed the rules and regulations since the 10th Senate’s founding.

    More details later…..

    Explore more news>>>